The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Giro d’Italia 2009 standings: results (general classification)

The 2009 Giro d’Italia was the 92nd edition of the prestigious Italian cycling race, also known as one of the Grand Tours alongside the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. It took place from May 9 to May 31, 2009, covering a total distance of around 3,450 kilometers.

Here are some key highlights and details about the 2009 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Contenders: The race featured top cyclists from around the world, including notable contenders such as Denis Menchov, Carlos Sastre, Ivan Basso and Danilo Di Luca.
  2. Winners: The overall winner of the 2009 Giro d’Italia was Denis Menchov, a Russian cyclist riding for the Rabobank team. He secured the victory with consistent performances throughout the race, particularly excelling in the mountain stages and individual time trials.
  3. Notable moments: The 2009 Giro d’Italia saw various memorable moments, including breakaway victories, challenging mountain battles, and dramatic finishes. Lance Armstrong, making a comeback to professional cycling after retiring in 2005, participated in the race but did not contend for the overall victory.

Overall, the 2009 Giro d’Italia provided thrilling racing action and showcased the talents of top cyclists competing on some of Italy’s most challenging roads.

3530482579 061f660487 b
Giro d'Italia 2009 standings: results (general classification) 2

Jersey Winners – 2009 Giro d’Italia

The jersey winners of the 2009 Giro d’Italia were as follows:

Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey) – General Classification: Denis Menchov (Russia) – Rabobank

Maglia Ciclamino (Cyclamen Jersey) – Points Classification: Alessandro Petacchi (Italy) – LPR Brakes-Farnese Vini

Maglia Verde (Green Jersey) – Mountains Classification: Stefano Garzelli (Italy) – Acqua & Sapone-Caffè Mokambo

Maglia Bianca (White Jersey) – Young Rider Classification: Kevin Seeldraeyers (Belgium) – Quick-Step

These jerseys represent different classifications within the race, and they are awarded to the riders who excel in each respective category throughout the stages of the Giro d’Italia.

Overall Ranking – 2009 Giro d’Italia

  1. Denis Menchov (Russia) – Rabobank
  2. Danilo Di Luca (Italy) – LPR Brakes-Farnese Vini (DISQUALIFIED)
  3. Franco Pellizotti (Italy) – Liquigas (DISQUALIFIED)
  4. Carlos Sastre (Spain) – Cervélo TestTeam
  5. Ivan Basso (Italy) – Liquigas
  6. Levi Leipheimer (United States) – Astana
  7. Stefano Garzelli (Italy) – Acqua & Sapone-Caffè Mokambo
  8. Michael Rogers (Australia) – Team Columbia–High Road
  9. Marzio Bruseghin (Italy) – Lampre–NGC
  10. David Arroyo (Spain) – Caisse d’Epargne

Denis Menchov emerged as the overall winner, securing the Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey) and the general classification victory.

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2010 Giro d’Italia were.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.