The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Giro d’Italia 2008 Standings: Winner, General Classification And Jerseys

The 2008 Giro d’Italia was the 91st edition of the prestigious Italian cycling race, one of the three Grand Tours alongside the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. It took place from May 10th to June 1st, 2008.

Route: The 2008 Giro d’Italia consisted of 21 stages covering a total distance of around 3,454 kilometers (2,147 miles). The race started in Palermo, Sicily, and concluded in Milan.

General Classification (Maglia Rosa): Alberto Contador, the Spanish rider from Team Astana, emerged as the overall winner, claiming the coveted pink jersey. He finished the race with a time of 89 hours, 56 minutes, and 49 seconds.

Controversies: The 2008 Giro d’Italia was marked by several controversies, particularly related to doping scandals. Astana team initially faced exclusion from the race due to involvement in doping scandals from the previous season, including the Operación Puerto affair. However, they were eventually allowed to compete, and Alberto Contador led the team to victory. Despite the controversies surrounding doping, Contador’s win in the Giro added to his already impressive list of achievements in professional cycling.

Other Standout Performances: Italian rider Riccardo Riccò had an impressive performance in the 2008 Giro d’Italia, winning two stages and finishing second overall. However, his achievements were overshadowed by later doping scandals, including a positive test for EPO during the 2008 Tour de France.

    The 2008 Giro d’Italia showcased thrilling racing action and memorable performances, but it was also marred by controversies surrounding doping, reflecting broader challenges faced by the sport of cycling during that era.

    442474 23301914 2560 1440
    Giro d'Italia 2008 Standings: Winner, General Classification And Jerseys 2

    Jersey Winners – 2008 Giro d’Italia

    Overall Winner (Maglia Rosa): Alberto Contador (Spain) from Team Astana.

    Points Classification Winner (Maglia Ciclamino): Daniele Bennati (Italy) from Liquigas.

    King of the Mountains Classification Winner (Maglia Verde): Emanuele Sella (Italy) from CSF Group Navigare.

    Young Rider Classification Winner (Maglia Bianca): Riccardo Riccò (Italy) from Saunier Duval-Scott.

      Overall Ranking – 2008 Giro d’Italia

      Here is the overall TOP 10 ranking of the 2008 Giro d’Italia:

      1. Alberto Contador (Spain) – Team Astana
      2. Riccardo Riccò (Italy) – Saunier Duval-Scott
      3. Marzio Bruseghin (Italy) – Lampre
      4. Franco Pellizotti (Italy) – Liquigas
      5. Denis Menchov (Russia) – Rabobank
      6. Emanuele Sella (Italy) – CSF Group Navigare
      7. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Belgium) – Silence-Lotto
      8. Danilo Di Luca (Italy) – LPR Brakes
      9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy) – CSF Group Navigare
      10. Gilberto Simoni (Italy) – Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli

      Click here to remember who the winners of the 2009 Giro d’Italia were.

      Leave A Reply

      Your email address will not be published.