The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

2020 Giro d’Italia Results: Winner, General Classification And Jersey Winners

The 2020 edition of the Giro d’Italia, one of the Grand Tours of professional cycling, took place from October 3 to October 25, 2020. Originally scheduled for its usual May slot, the race was rescheduled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Here are some key points from the 2020 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Route: The race covered a total distance of 3,497.9 kilometers, featuring 21 stages. The route included a mix of flat stages, hilly terrain, and challenging mountain stages.
  2. Contenders: Notable riders participating in the 2020 Giro included Geraint Thomas, Simon Yates, Vincenzo Nibali, Jakob Fuglsang, and others.
  3. Winner: Tao Geoghegan Hart, a British rider from Team INEOS Grenadiers, emerged as the overall winner of the 2020 Giro d’Italia. He secured the victory in the final time trial stage, edging out Jai Hindley.
  4. COVID-19 Measures: The Giro d’Italia implemented strict health and safety measures due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, including testing protocols, limited audience access, and a “bubble” concept to protect riders and staff.

The highlight of the 2020 Giro d’Italia was the intense and dramatic battle for the overall victory, particularly in the final stages of the race. The competition came down to the wire with a closely contested battle between Tao Geoghegan Hart of Team INEOS Grenadiers and Jai Hindley of Team Sunweb.

2922276 60039488 2560 1440
2020 Giro d'Italia Results: Winner, General Classification And Jersey Winners 2

JERSEY WINNERS – 2020 Giro d’Italia

The jersey winners of the 2020 Giro d’Italia were determined in several categories based on the different classifications. Here are the winners of the respective jerseys:

  • Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey – General Classification):
    • Winner: Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS Grenadiers)
  • Maglia Ciclamino (Cyclamen Jersey – Points Classification):
    • Winner: Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ)
  • Maglia Azzurra (Blue Jersey – Mountains Classification):
    • Winner: Ruben Guerreiro (EF Pro Cycling)
  • Maglia Bianca (White Jersey – Best Young Rider):
    • Winner: Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS Grenadiers)

These riders demonstrated excellence in their respective categories throughout the course of the 2020 Giro d’Italia. The Maglia Rosa, or Pink Jersey, is the most prestigious and signifies the overall leader in the general classification, while the other jerseys highlight achievements in points, mountains, and the best young rider categories.

Overall Ranking – 2020 Giro d’Italia

These were the TOP 10 RIDERS in the 2020 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS Grenadiers)
  2. Jai Hindley (Team Sunweb)
  3. Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)
  4. João Almeida (Deceuninck–Quick-Step)
  5. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain McLaren)
  6. Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team)
  7. Vincenzo Nibali (Trek–Segafredo)
  8. Patrick Konrad (Bora–Hansgrohe)
  9. Fausto Masnada (Deceuninck–Quick-Step)
  10. Hermann Pernsteiner (Bahrain McLaren)

These standings reflect the final results after the conclusion of the 2020 Giro d’Italia. Tao Geoghegan Hart’s impressive performance in the final stages, particularly in the individual time trial, allowed him to secure the overall victory in the race.

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2021 Giro d’Italia were.

1 Comment
  1. […] 2020 Giro d’Italia Results: Winner, General… […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.