The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

2019 Giro d’Italia Standings: Results, General Classification and Jersey Winners

The 2019 Giro d’Italia was the 102nd edition of the Giro d’Italia, one of cycling’s Grand Tours. The race took place from May 11 to June 2, 2019, and covered a total distance of 3,518 kilometers (2,185 miles). The Giro d’Italia is known for its challenging routes and varied terrains, and the 2019 edition was no exception.

Here are some key highlights from the 2019 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Route: The race started in Bologna with an individual time trial and concluded in Verona. The route included several mountain stages, challenging climbs, and iconic passes.
  2. Contenders: The race attracted top cyclists from around the world, with notable contenders including Primoz Roglic, Vincenzo Nibali, Simon Yates, Miguel Ángel López, and Richard Carapaz.
  3. Race Leaders: The overall leader’s Maglia Rosa changed hands several times throughout the race. Slovenian rider Primoz Roglic, who was part of Team Jumbo-Visma, emerged as an early favorite and wore the pink jersey for a significant portion of the race.
  4. Richard Carapaz’s Victory: The Ecuadorian rider Richard Carapaz of Movistar Team emerged as the surprise winner of the 2019 Giro d’Italia. Carapaz made a decisive move in the mountain stages and managed to hold onto his lead, securing the overall victory.

The 2019 Giro d’Italia was marked by its challenging course, competitive field, and unexpected outcomes. Richard Carapaz‘s victory was particularly noteworthy, as he became the first Ecuadorian rider to win a Grand Tour.

61618093 10156433827908247 6239778541177667584 n
2019 Giro d'Italia Standings: Results, General Classification and Jersey Winners 2

JERSEY WINNERS – 2019 Giro d’Italia

These were the jersey winners in the key classifications:

  1. Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey – General Classification):
    • Winner: Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)
  2. Maglia Ciclamino (Cyclamen Jersey – Points Classification):
    • Winner: Pascal Ackermann (BORA-hansgrohe)
  3. Maglia Azzurra (Blue Jersey – King of the Mountains Classification):
    • Winner: Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo)
  4. Maglia Bianca (White Jersey – Best Young Rider Classification):
    • Winner: Miguel Ángel López (Astana Pro Team)

Each jersey represents a different aspect of the race, and riders compete for these distinctions throughout the stages of the Giro d’Italia.

Overall Ranking – 2019 Giro d’Italia

These were the TOP 10 riders in the General Classification (overall standings) of the 2019 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Richard Carapaz (Movistar Team)
  2. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain–Merida)
  3. Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo–Visma)
  4. Mikel Landa (Movistar Team)
  5. Bauke Mollema (Trek–Segafredo)
  6. Rafal Majka (BORA–hansgrohe)
  7. Miguel Ángel López (Astana Pro Team)
  8. Simon Yates (Mitchelton–Scott)
  9. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS)
  10. Ilnur Zakarin (Team Katusha–Alpecin)

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2020 Giro d’Italia were.

1 Comment
  1. […] here to remember who the winners of the 2019 Giro d’Italia […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.