The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Giro d’Italia 2021 standings: results (general classification)

The 2021 Giro d’Italia was the 104th edition of the Giro d’Italia, one of cycling’s Grand Tour events. The race took place from May 8 to May 30, 2021, and covered a total distance of 3,479.9 kilometers.

The overall winner of the 2021 Giro d’Italia was Egan Bernal, a Colombian cyclist riding for the INEOS Grenadiers. Bernal took the lead in the general classification after a strong performance in the mountain stages and successfully defended his position throughout the race. He became the second Colombian rider to win the Giro d’Italia, following Nairo Quintana’s victory in 2014.

The race also saw notable performances from other riders, including Damiano Caruso, who finished in second place overall, and Simon Yates, who won multiple stages during the race.

Screen Shot 2022 05 01 at 14.24.54 1
Giro d'Italia 2021 standings: results (general classification) 2

JERSEY WINNERS – 2021 Giro d’Italia

The 2021 Giro d’Italia featured several distinctive jerseys, each awarded to the leader of a particular classification. Here are the jersey winners of the 2021 Giro d’Italia:

  • Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey – General Classification): Egan Bernal (Team INEOS Grenadiers) – Awarded to the rider with the lowest overall time.
  • Maglia Ciclamino (Cyclamen Jersey – Points Classification): Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe) – Awarded to the rider who accumulates the most points in intermediate sprints and stage finishes.
  • Maglia Azzurra (Blue Jersey – King of the Mountains Classification): Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R Citroën Team) – Awarded to the rider who earns the most points in categorized climbs.
  • Maglia Bianca (White Jersey – Young Rider Classification): Egan Bernal (Team INEOS Grenadiers) – Awarded to the best-placed rider under 25 years old in the general classification.

Overall Ranking – 2021 Giro d’Italia

These were the 20 best riders in the 2021 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Egan Bernal (Team INEOS Grenadiers)
  2. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious)
  3. Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange)
  4. Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech)
  5. Daniel Felipe Martínez (INEOS Grenadiers)
  6. João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step)
  7. Romain Bardet (Team DSM)
  8. Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo)
  9. Tobias Foss (Jumbo-Visma)
  10. Daniel Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation)
  11. George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma)
  12. Koen Bouwman (Jumbo-Visma)
  13. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious)
  14. Attila Valter (Groupama-FDJ)
  15. Davide Formolo (UAE Team Emirates)
  16. Lorenzo Fortunato (Eolo-Kometa)
  17. Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates)
  18. Vicenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo)
  19. Gorka Izagirre (Astana-Premier Tech)
  20. Louis Vervaeke (Alpecin-Fenix)

These riders excelled over the course of the three-week race, demonstrating their strength and endurance across a variety of terrains and challenging stages. Egan Bernal emerged as the overall winner.

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2022 Giro d’Italia were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the 2021 Giro d’Italia were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.