The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Tour de France 2009 standings: results (general classification)

The 2009 Tour de France was the 96th edition of the prestigious cycling race. It took place from July 4 to July 26, covering a total distance of 3.444 kilometers (2.140 miles). The race consisted of 21 stages, including individual time trials, mountain stages, and flat stages, challenging the cyclists with a variety of terrains.

Key highlights of the 2009 Tour de France:

  • Winner: The Spanish rider Alberto Contador, known for his climbing abilities, emerged as the overall winner of the 2009 Tour de France. This marked his second victory in the race, with his previous win occurring in 2007.

  • Controversy: Lance Armstrong, a seven-time Tour de France winner, finished third in the 2009 race. However, he was later stripped of his results and disqualified from the race due to his involvement in a doping scandal.

  • Young Talent: Luxembourgish rider Andy Schleck, a talented climber, finished in second place overall. This marked the beginning of a successful career for Schleck in Grand Tours.

  • Bradley Wiggins’ Transition: English cyclist Bradley Wiggins, known for his success on the track as a pursuit specialist, secured the fourth position (later becoming the third place, due to Armstrong’s doping scandal). This race signaled Wiggins’ transition from track cycling to becoming a competitive road cyclist in Grand Tours.

  • Doping Controversy – Franco Pellizotti: Italian rider Franco Pellizotti faced doping-related issues after anomalies were found in his blood values during anti-doping tests conducted before the 2009 Tour. He received a two-year suspension, and his results from May 2009 onwards were nullified.

The 2009 Tour de France, like many editions of the race, had its share of drama, as you can see.

tourpic27 07 27 2009 9NGL58E 1
Tour de France 2009 standings: results (general classification) 3

2009 Tour de France: Yellow Jersey, Green Jersey, Polka Dot Jersey and White Jersey

The 2009 Tour de France winners of the major jerseys were as follows:

  1. Yellow Jersey (Overall Winner): Alberto Contador.
  2. Green Jersey (Points Classification): Thor Hushovd.
  3. Polka Dot Jersey (King of the Mountains): Egoi Martínez.
  4. White Jersey (Best Young Rider): Andy Schleck.

Franco Pellizotti was the original King of the Mountains, but due to doping-related issues and subsequent disqualification, the jersey was retroactively awarded to Egoi Martínez.

Overall Ranking – Tour de France 2009:

The overall rankings of the Tour de France 2009 were as follows:

1.Alberto Contador (Spain)

2. Andy Schleck (Luxembourg)

Lance Armstrong (United States) – Later disqualified

3. Bradley Wiggins (United Kingdom)

4. Frank Schleck (Luxembourg)

5. Andréas Klöden (Germany)

6. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy)

7. Christian Vande Velde (United States)

8. Roman Kreuziger (Czech Republic)

9. Christophe Le Mével (France)

10. Sandy Casar (France)

Stage Winners – Tour de France 2009:

Here’s a breakdown of the types of stages in the 2009 Tour de France:

  • Individual Time Trials: There were two individual time trial stages (Stage 1 and Stage 18), where riders raced against the clock.
  • Mountain Stages: Several stages took the riders through mountainous terrain, including challenging ascents in the Pyrenees and the Alps. These stages tested the climbers’ abilities to navigate steep and demanding climbs. Notable mountain stages included Stage 7 (Barcelona to Andorra Arcalis), Stage 15 (Pontarlier to Verbier), Stage 16 (Martigny to Bourg-Saint-Maurice), and Stage 20 (Montélimar to Mont Ventoux).
  • Flat Stages: Flat stages favored sprinters and typically ended with a mass sprint finish. These stages were opportunities for riders specializing in sprinting to showcase their speed. Examples of flat stages included Stage 2 (Monaco to Brignoles), Stage 3 (Marseille to La Grande-Motte), and Stage 19 (Bourgoin-Jallieu to Aubenas).
  • Medium Mountain Stages: Some stages featured medium mountain terrain, providing a mix of challenges for riders with different strengths. Stage 18 (Annecy to Annecy) is an example of a stage with medium mountain terrain.
0867 Galibier PelotonRear bb PhSpy
Tour de France 2009 standings: results (general classification) 4

These were the winners of each stage:

  1. Stage 1 (Individual Time Trial in Monaco): Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)
  2. Stage 2 (Monaco to Brignoles): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  3. Stage 3 (Marseille to La Grande-Motte): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  4. Stage 4 (Montpellier to Montpellier): ASTANA (Team Time Trial)
  5. Stage 5 (Le Cap d’Agde to Perpignan): Thomas Voeckler (France)
  6. Stage 6 (Girona to Barcelona): Thor Hushovd (Norway)
  7. Stage 7 (Barcelona to Andorra Arcalis): Brice Feillu (France)
  8. Stage 8 (Andorra-la-Vella to Saint-Girons): Luis León Sánchez (Spain)
  9. Stage 9 (Saint-Gaudens to Tarbes): Pierrick Fédrigo (France)
  10. Stage 10 (Limoges to Issoudun): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  11. Stage 11 (Vatan to Saint-Fargeau): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  12. Stage 12 (Tonnerre to Vittel): Nicki Sørensen (Denmark)
  13. Stage 13 (Vittel to Colmar): Heinrich Haussler (Germany)
  14. Stage 14 (Colmar to Besançon): Serguei Ivanov (Russia)
  15. Stage 15 (Pontarlier to Verbier): Alberto Contador (Spain)
  16. Stage 16 (Martigny to Bourg-Saint-Maurice): Sandy Casar (France)
  17. Stage 17 (Bourg-Saint-Maurice to Le Grand-Bornand): Fränk Schleck (Luxembourg)
  18. Stage 18 (Annecy to Annecy): Alberto Contador (Spain)
  19. Stage 19 (Bourgoin-Jallieu to Aubenas): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  20. Stage 20 (Montélimar to Mont Ventoux): Juan Manuel Gárate (Spain)
  21. Stage 21 (Montereau-Fault-Yonne to Paris Champs-Élysées): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)

Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2010 were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2010 were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.