The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Tour de France 2011 Results: winner, general classification and jerseys

The 2011 Tour de France, the 98th edition of the famous race, started on July 2, 2011, and concluded on the 24th, covering a route of 3,430.5 km (2,131 miles). Cadel Evans, a 34-year-old Australian rider from BMC Racing Team, won the race for the first and only time in his career, finishing with a time of 86h12’22”. Evans, initially from mountain biking, proved to be a strong road cyclist in both one-day races and stage races. He had previously secured podium positions in the 2007 and 2008 editions.

The 2011 Tour de France podium featured Luxembourg brothers Schleck, marking the first time siblings occupied podium positions in the Tour’s history. Andy Schleck, a climber, secured the second position (his third and final podium appearance in the Tour, having won in 2010), while his older brother, Fränk Schleck, another climber, finished third (his first and last podium appearance in the Tour de France).


2011 Tour de France: Yellow Jersey, Green Jersey, Polka Dot Jersey and White Jersey

In 2011, these were the winners of the jerseys in the Tour de France.

  1. Yellow Jersey (Maillot Jaune): Awarded to the rider with the lowest overall time. Won by Cadel Evans (Australia) of BMC Racing Team.
  2. Green Jersey (Maillot Vert): Given to the leader in the points classification, primarily awarded for sprinting. Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom) from HTC-Highroad won the Green Jersey.
  3. Polka Dot Jersey (Maillot à Pois Rouges): Awarded to the best climber or the leader in the King of the Mountains classification. Samuel Sánchez (Spain) from Euskaltel-Euskadi won the Polka Dot Jersey.
  4. White Jersey (Maillot Blanc): Awarded to the best young rider under the age of 26. Pierre Rolland (France) from Team Europcar won the White Jersey.

Overall Ranking – Tour de France 2011:

The top 10 overall ranking in the Tour de France 2011 was as follows:

  1. Cadel Evans (Australia) – BMC Racing Team
  2. Andy Schleck (Luxembourg) – Leopard Trek
  3. Fränk Schleck (Luxembourg) – Leopard Trek
  4. Thomas Voeckler (France) – Team Europcar
  5. Alberto Contador (Spain) – Saxo Bank-SunGard DISQUALIFIED DUE TO DOPING
  6. Samuel Sánchez (Spain) – Euskaltel-Euskadi
  7. Ivan Basso (Italy) – Liquigas-Cannondale
  8. Damiano Cunego (Italy) – Lampre-ISD
  9. Thomas Danielson (United States) – Team Garmin-Cervélo
  10. Jean-Christophe Péraud (France) – AG2R La Mondiale

Cadel Evans became the first Australian to win not only the Tour de France but also any Grand Tour in cycling history.

les coureurs du tour a l attaque dans l alpe d huez
rolland (pierre) – (fra) – schleck (frank) – (lux) – evans (cadel) – (aus) – voeckler (thomas) – (fra) – charteau (anthony) – (fra) –

Stage Winners – Tour de France 2011:

The race, with a distance of 3,430.5 kilometers (2,131 miles), was organized into 21 stages:

  • 10 stages with a flat route,
  • 6 mountain stages, including 4 finishes at mountain tops,
  • 3 hilly stages,
  • 1 individual time trial (42,5 kilometers or 26,4 miles),
  • 1 team time trial (23 kilometers or 14,2 miles).

Here are the winners of all 21 stages in the 2011 Tour de France:

  1. Stage 1 (Flat): Philippe Gilbert (Belgium)
  2. Stage 2 (Team Time Trial): Garmin-Cervélo
  3. Stage 3 (Flat): Tyler Farrar (United States)
  4. Stage 4 (Flat): Cadel Evans (Australia)
  5. Stage 5 (Flat): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  6. Stage 6 (Flat): Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
  7. Stage 7 (Mountain): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  8. Stage 8 (Mountain): Rui Costa (Portugal)
  9. Stage 9 (Mountain): Luis León Sánchez (Spain)
  10. Stage 10 (Flat): André Greipel (Germany)
  11. Stage 11 (Flat): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  12. Stage 12 (Mountain): Samuel Sánchez (Spain)
  13. Stage 13 (Mountain): Thor Hushovd (Norway)
  14. Stage 14 (Mountain): Jelle Vanendert (Belgium)
  15. Stage 15 (Flat): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)
  16. Stage 16 (Mountain): Thor Hushovd (Norway)
  17. Stage 17 (Mountain): Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
  18. Stage 18 (Mountain): Andy Schleck (Luxembourg)
  19. Stage 19 (Mountain): Pierre Rolland (France)
  20. Stage 20 (Individual Time Trial): Tony Martin (Germany)
  21. Stage 21 (Flat): Mark Cavendish (United Kingdom)

Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2012 were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2011 were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.