The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Giro d’Italia 2014 standings: results (general classification)

The 2014 Giro d’Italia was the 97th edition of the prestigious Italian cycling race, one of the three Grand Tours alongside the Tour de France and the Vuelta a España. The race took place from May 9 to June 1, 2014, starting in Belfast, Northern Ireland, with the opening three stages being held there, before moving to Italy for the remaining stages.

Here are some key highlights and notable aspects of the 2014 Giro d’Italia:

Overall Winner: The race was won by Nairo Quintana, a Colombian rider from the Movistar Team. He secured the pink jersey, which is the symbol of the race leader, after an impressive performance in the mountains.

Route: The route covered a total distance of approximately 3,446.5 kilometers (2,141.8 miles) over 21 stages. The race included challenging climbs in the Italian Alps and Dolomites, as well as a time trial stage.

Contenders: The race featured several top riders, including defending champion Vincenzo Nibali, Cadel Evans, Rigoberto Urán, and Domenico Pozzovivo, among others. Quintana emerged as a strong contender early in the race.

Weather Challenges: The race faced adverse weather conditions at times, especially during the early stages in Ireland, where rain and cold temperatures made for challenging racing conditions.

Final Podium: Nairo Quintana won the race, with Rigoberto Urán finishing second overall and Fabio Aru in third place.

The 2014 Giro d’Italia was notable for Quintana’s dominant performance in the mountains and his ability to withstand the challenges posed by his competitors. It marked a significant victory for Colombian cycling and further solidified Quintana’s reputation as one of the top Grand Tour contenders in the world.

Colombias Nairo Quintana 014
Giro d'Italia 2014 standings: results (general classification) 2

Jersey Winners– 2014 Giro d’Italia

These were the jersey winners:

Pink Jersey (Maglia Rosa): This jersey is awarded to the rider leading the general classification, i.e., the rider with the lowest overall time. The winner of the pink jersey in the 2014 Giro d’Italia was Nairo Quintana of Colombia, riding for Movistar Team.

Cyclamen Jersey (Maglia Ciclamino): The red jersey is awarded to the leader of the points classification, which is based on points earned at intermediate sprints and stage finishes. The winner of the red jersey in the 2014 Giro was Nacer Bouhanni of France.

Blue Jersey (Maglia Azzurra): The blue jersey is awarded to the leader of the mountains classification, which is determined by points earned at categorized climbs throughout the race. Julian Arredondo of Colombia, riding for Trek Factory Racing, won the blue jersey in the 2014 Giro.

White Jersey (Maglia Bianca): The white jersey is awarded to the best young rider in the general classification. This classification is open to riders under the age of 25. The winner of the white jersey in the 2014 Giro was Nairo Quintana of Colombia, who also won the pink jersey.

Overall Ranking – 2014 Giro d’Italia

Here are the top 10 riders in the general classification of the 2014 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Nairo Quintana (Colombia) – Movistar Team
  2. Rigoberto Urán (Colombia) – Omega Pharma–Quick-Step
  3. Fabio Aru (Italy) – Astana Pro Team
  4. Pierre Rolland (France) – Team Europcar
  5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy) – AG2R La Mondiale
  6. Rafal Majka (Poland) – Tinkoff-Saxo
  7. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands) – Belkin Pro Cycling
  8. Cadel Evans (Australia) – BMC Racing Team
  9. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada) – Garmin-Sharp
  10. Robert Kišerlovski (Croatia) – Trek Factory Racing

This ranking is based on the final standings of the general classification at the end of the race.

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2015 Giro d’Italia were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the 2014 Giro d’Italia were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.