The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Tour de France 2012 standings: results (general classification)

The 2012 Tour de France marked the 99th edition of the renowned cycling competition. It kicked off on June 30, 2012, in Liège, Belgium, and wrapped up on July 22, 2012, in Paris.

The coveted yellow jersey, symbolizing the overall winner, was claimed by British cyclist Bradley Wiggins of Team Sky. Wiggins secured his victory during the first challenging mountain stage at La Planche des Belles Filles, making him the first British cyclist to achieve this feat. The second and third positions were secured by Christopher Froome (Sky), a teammate and fellow Brit of Wiggins, and Italian Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale).

Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) emerged as a standout by winning three stages and becoming the first Slovak rider to dominate the points classification. Meanwhile, French cyclist Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) claimed the polka dot jersey for leading the mountain classification. The white jersey, awarded to the best young rider, went to American Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing), who finished 5th overall. The team classification was secured by Luxembourg-based RadioShack-Nissan, and the Danish cyclist Chris Anker Sørensen (Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) was recognized for his outstanding efforts with the super-combativity award during the Tour.

VbKbZkM5G8V7JpfbtV4Ba3 1
Bradley Wiggins on stage twenty of the 2012 Tour de France

Yellow Jersey, Green Jersey, Polka Dot Jersey and White Jersey in the 2012 Tour de France

In Tour de France, different colored jerseys are awarded to riders based on their performance in various classifications.

These were the Jersey Winners of the 2012 Tour de France:

  • Yellow Jersey (Overall Winner): Bradley Wiggins, a British cyclist riding for Team Sky, won the yellow jersey as the overall winner of the Tour de France.
  • Green Jersey (Points Classification): Peter Sagan, a Slovak cyclist from Team Liquigas-Cannondale, claimed the green jersey for leading the points classification.
  • Polka Dot Jersey (Mountain Classification): Thomas Voeckler, a French cyclist representing Team Europcar, won the polka dot jersey for being the leader in the mountain classification.
  • White Jersey (Best Young Rider): Tejay van Garderen, an American cyclist riding for BMC Racing, secured the white jersey as the best young rider in the general classification.

Overall Ranking (General Classification)– Tour de France 2012:

The top 10 overall ranking (general classification) of the Tour de France 2012 was as follows:

  1. Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky): The British cyclist secured the yellow jersey as the overall winner of the 2012 Tour de France.
  2. Christopher Froome (Team Sky): Another British cyclist and teammate of Wiggins, Froome finished in the second position.
  3. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale): The Italian cyclist claimed the third position in the general classification.
  4. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol): The Belgian rider finished fourth in the overall standings.
  5. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing): The American cyclist secured the fifth position in the general classification.
  6. Haimar Zubeldia (RadioShack-Nissan): The Spanish rider finished sixth overall.
  7. Cadel Evans (BMC Racing): The Australian, who won the Tour de France the previous year, finished seventh in the 2012 edition.
  8. Pierre Rolland (Europcar): The French cyclist secured the eighth position in the overall standings.
  9. Janez Brajkovič (Astana): The Slovenian rider finished ninth in the general classification.
  10. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-BigMat): The French cyclist rounded out the top 10 in the overall

Stage Winners – Tour de France 2012:

  1. Prologue – Individual Time Trial: Fabian Cancellara (Radioshack-Nissan)
  2. Stage 1: Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale)
  3. Stage 2: Mark Cavendish (Team Sky)
  4. Stage 3: Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale)
  5. Stage 4: André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol)
  6. Stage 5: André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol)
  7. Stage 6: Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale)
  8. Stage 7: Chris Froome (Team Sky)
  9. Stage 8: Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-BigMat)
  10. Stage 9: Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)
  11. Stage 10: Thomas Voeckler (Europcar)
  12. Stage 11: Pierre Rolland (Bbox Bouygues Telecom)
  13. Stage 12: David Millar (Garmin-Sharp)
  14. Stage 13: André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol)
  15. Stage 14: Luis León Sánchez (Raboban)
  16. Stage 15: Pierrick Fédrigo (FDJ-BigMat)
  17. Stage 16: Thomas Voeckler (Europcar)
  18. Stage 17: Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team)
  19. Stage 18: Mark Cavendish (Team Sky)
  20. Stage 19: Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)
  21. Stage 20: Mark Cavendish (Team Sky)

The 2012 Tour de France was significant for Bradley Wiggins, marking a historic moment for British cycling as he claimed the yellow jersey and became the overall winner. The race showcased a mix of exciting sprint finishes, challenging climbs, and strategic team performances.

Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2013 were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the Tour de France 2012 were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.