The latest cycling news. Scores, standings, states, rumors and competitions. Tour de France, Giro D'Italia, classics and much more.

Giro d’Italia 2016: Results, General Classification And Jersey Winners

The 2016 Giro d’Italia was the 99th edition of the Giro, one of cycling’s Grand Tours. The race took place from May 6 to May 29, 2016, and covered a total distance of 3,383 kilometers. The route featured 21 stages, including a team time trial, individual time trials, and various mountain stages.

The general classification was contested by many top riders, but the battle ultimately came down to a duel between Vincenzo Nibali of Italy, riding for the Astana Pro Team, and Esteban Chaves of Colombia, riding for Orica–GreenEDGE. Nibali, a former Giro d’Italia winner and Tour de France champion, secured the overall victory by making a decisive move on the penultimate stage, a mountain time trial from Castelrotto to Alpe di Siusi.

Nibali’s triumph in the 2016 Giro d’Italia marked his second victory in the race, adding to his 2013 title. Esteban Chaves finished in second place, and Alejandro Valverde of Spain rounded out the podium in third.

The 2016 Giro d’Italia showcased a challenging and diverse course, with stages traversing various terrains and iconic Italian landscapes. The race is remembered for its competitive and dramatic moments, making it a memorable edition in the history of the Giro d’Italia.

Cycling: 99th Tour of Italy 2016 / Stage 9 Podium / Primoz ROGLIC (SLO)/ Celebration / Chianti – Chianti (40,5km)/ Time Trial / ITT / Giro / © Tim De Waele

JERSEY WINNERS – 2016 Giro d’Italia

These were the jersey winners of the 2016 Giro d’Italia :

  1. Maglia Rosa (Pink Jersey) – General Classification (GC) Leader: Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) – Astana Pro Team
  2. Maglia Rossa (Red Jersey) – Points Classification Leader: Giacomo Nizzolo (Italy) – Trek–Segafredo
  3. Maglia Azzurra (Blue Jersey) – King of the Mountains Classification Leader: Mikel Nieve (Spain) – Team Sky
  4. Maglia Bianca (White Jersey) – Best Young Rider (under 25) Leader: Bob Jungels (Luxembourg) – Etixx–Quick-Step

Overall Ranking – 2016 Giro d’Italia

Here are the top 10 riders in the General Classification (GC) of the 2016 Giro d’Italia:

  1. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) – Astana Pro Team
  2. Esteban Chaves (Colombia) – Orica–GreenEDGE
  3. Alejandro Valverde (Spain) – Movistar Team
  4. Steven Kruijswijk (Netherlands) – Team LottoNL–Jumbo
  5. Rafal Majka (Poland) – Tinkoff Team
  6. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg) – Etixx–Quick-Step
  7. Rigoberto Urán (Colombia) – Cannondale Pro Cycling
  8. Andrey Amador (Costa Rica) – Movistar Team
  9. Darwin Atapuma (Colombia) – BMC Racing Team
  10. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Belarus) – Dimension Data

Click here to remember who the winners of the 2017 Giro d’Italia were.

1 Comment
  1. […] Click here to remember who the winners of the 2016 Giro d’Italia were. […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.